We use cookies to help us deliver our online services. By using our website or by closing this message box, you agree to our use of cookies as described in our Cookie policy.


Burundi Heart of Africa


The republic of Burundi is a small country of Central Africa located in the Great Lakes area. It is bordered north by the Republic of Rwanda, south-east by the United Republic of Tanzania and on the west by the Democratic Republic of Congo. Burundi is a small 27,834 km2 state and a population of about 8 millions inhabitants. The capital Bujumbura is located on the Lake Tanganyika’s banks. Since the 15th century, Burundi is a monarchy organized around a king, the « Mwami ». Burundi has an oral tradition, the legends and tales have inspired the historians. The kingdom has rejected all the incursions of the Zanzibar slave hunters before submitting to the Germans in 1897. Mwezi Gisabo surrendered on June 6 , 1903 at Kiganda which became an historical site. Successively a Belgian then a German colony, Burundi became independent in 1962. The assassination of the national hero, Prince Rwagasore, on October 13, 1961 will precede the end of the monarchy. In 1966, Michel MICOMBERO became the first president of the Republic of Burundi. The Burundian population is composed of three main ethnic groups (Hutu, Tutsi and Twa). However, in opposition to what is very often the case in Africa, these groups did not form different cultures. The language, “Kirundi” as well as most the social customs are the base of a culture shared by the majority of the united population on a territory united since the eighteenth century.



created on

03 / 17 / 2015

created by

Burundi Tourism Office


Tourism offices


- Burundi